26.11.2020 kl. 09.00 - 12.00


“Millimeter-wave antennas for 5G mobile terminals and base stations”

The development of fifth generation (5G) mobile communication has brought challenges on millimeter-wave (mm-wave) antenna design for mobile terminals and base stations. Our work addresses three different aspects: radiation pattern reconfigurable antenna, endfire dual-polarized antenna, and shared aperture antenna. The first two studies concern mobile applications, while the last relates to base station applications.

The main goal of the research on reconfigurable antenna aims to obtain a large spatial coverage, while reducing the complexity of the antenna system for the 5G mobile applications. We propose a solution based on a hybrid beam switching and steering system, which operates from 24 to 27.5 GHz. The key idea is to integrate the pattern reconfigurable antennas into a phased array in order to achieve a 3D
 radiation pattern reconfigure.

The endfire dual-polarized antenna design relates to the multi-input multi-output (MIMO) systems in the 5G mobile terminals. First, we propose a solution based on the vertical-polarized substrate integrated waveguide (SIW) horn antennas, where the transition plates are modified into dipole antennas, generating horizontal-polarized radiation. This design has obtained strong advantages in terms of low profile and small clearance. Second, we present an alternative design consisting of interleaved SIW horn antennas and notch antennas for the vertical- and horizontal-polarized radiation, respectively. By introducing the wideband transitions for the SIW elements, the bandwidth of the vertical polarization greatly increases, while maintaining the same profile and a similar clearance compared to the previous design.

Finally, we propose a shared aperture antenna for the 5G base station applications, which covers two frequency ranges of S-band (2.5-2.7 GHz) and K-band (24.2-26.1 GHz). The antenna consists of a 4 4 cavity backed slot array for the K-band radiation and a patch antenna for the S-band radiation. Moreover, the patch antenna functions as a bandpass frequency selective surface (FSS) in order to gain penetration and reduce the out-of-band emission at K-band.

Assessment Committee
Associate Professor Jimmy Jessen Nielsen, Aalborg University (chairman)
Professor Andrea Neto, Technical University of Delft, the Netherlands
Professor Ronan Sauleau, Université de Rennes, France

Professor Gert Frølund Pedersen, Aalborg University
Associate Professor Shuai Zhang, Aalborg University

Associate Professor Wei Fan, Aalborg University


Free of charge


Antennas, Propagation and Millimetre-Wave Systems, Department of Electronic Systems


Online via Microsoft Teams (link will be sent to registered participants prior to the defence)

Registration Deadline

25.11.2020 kl. 12.00

Register at